Spring TV 2014 – Enlisted

It’s the new year, and you know what that means – new shows. Every year, we are bamboozled with an assortment of TV shows in both the spring and fall. Fall tends to be the time everyone pays attention to, but Spring sometimes has a lot of great shows in store as well. While we at Smaller on the Outside kind of ignore the returnning shows, we take a closer look at the new spring line-up.

3. Enlisted

Enlisted

I’m someone you wouldn’t normally consider a big military guy. Not really a fan. I don’t like army movies, video games, people that decide to go into the army, you name it. Don’t get me wrong, I believe their decision to go, while misguided, is the bravest thing anyone has ever chosen to do…but I don’t think it’s necessary. Anyways. A bit off topic here. Enlisted is a show that I noticed existed, but didn’t care to watch, but since we began the Spring TV Battle of 2014, I decided to go ahead and give it a watch, and it’s not that bad.

What it’s about is three brothers on an army camp in Florida amongst other unlikely army men. Beyond that? Well…I have my fears.

Pros:

  1. Brothers
    • Coming from my own upbringing of three brothers, I can appreciate the sibling rivalry and polar opposites of the brothers. These guys are pretty darn funny when they are in the same scenes together, and they create an interesting dynamic when they have their own solo scenes. Plus, Geoff Stultz does well coming back from his other show which ended too early (The Finder). 
  2. The army
    • The show is a lot less about the army than I thought it would be, even though the setting is always in an army base. The difference is that this isn’t the “army” that you would expect to see. This is more of an army of stupid, colorful characters, not unlike the gang in Mulan. It’s unlikely and kind of ridiculous, but that’s what saves the show.
  3. Comedy
    • I couldn’t help but notice the jokes in the first episode were actually pretty well written out in terms of one-liners. I caught myself laughing more than once at the writing. However, it’s nowhere near the impressive writing in other shows like it, and I’m pretty sure it’s not powerful enough to stay alive.

Cons:

  1. Future

    • Let’s be honest, no matter how much you actually loved the premiere, you can’t see the show surviving in the long run. How long can you stay at an army base? Well, a long time, but in a show’s universe, how many things can actually further the story? Not much. I fear it’ll just be the same thing over and over, and we’ll stop having reasons to return.
  2. Army
    • If you’re like me, then the very fact that this show takes place around an army base may be enough to keep you away. People don’t like the army. Others that actually like it might have trouble seeing people make light of a potentially stressful time. I just keep seeing – limited audience, which means…limited potential.

Now, it’ll be a while yet until I get to compare this to its rival for our battle, Mixology, but these are both shows I was unsure about, and I really think that Enlisted has a fair chance just from what I’ve seen so far. Will keep you informed!

Leave a Reply

