Wolverine and the X-Men – Season in Review

vsmedioswolverinexmen

The second season of “Wolverine and the X-Men” begins next week, so I decided to watch the first season this week.  Having watched it, I have to say I am extremely impressed with it.  I am not one to say that I enjoy cartoons very often, and I have to say this is a treat.

I was also a fan of the X-Men’s previous animated series, “X-Men Evolution,” because it was partly based on the film series.  Having watched “Wolverine and the X-Men”, it was not primarily based on the films, but more so the comics.  I never really read any of the comics, but I have read other’s reviews saying how much this show stays true to the comics.

It took a while getting used to, but after watching the three part series premiere, I was pretty much hooked.  The show is much more exciting then Evolution.  More cinematical, and more serious.  The entire first season was based around what I believe to be the “Days of Future Past” storyline of the X-Men franchise. Where Senetor Kelly started the Mutant Registration Act, rounding up every Mutant.

Another aspect of the show, which I grew to love, was centered around the fact that the X-Men, mainly Wolverine, had inside information of what was to come in the future.  Professor X had slipped into a coma, and when he awoke 20 years in the future, he found a way to speak to his former X-Men.  Time to time, the show switched from present day, to the future.  Very interesting aspect.

I also loved how the show introduced us to more of the more unknown Marvel characters.  Die hard fans would for sure know who Emma Frost was.  Like I said, I’m not a die hard fan, so I was intrigued by her character.  As well as most of the X-Men in the future, I know they are pretty popular, but until this series, I hadn’t heard of them before.

I read that this series was so popular, two more seasons had been renewed.  The complete second season is in post production, and a third is in pre-production, both with another set of 26 episodes.  I find that fascinating. So congratulations, to whoever came up with this series, and keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

