American Idol: Top 36 – Group 1 Perform

11307

I know it’s been a while, but I am back again this year with recaps.  Again starting with American Idol recaps.  This year seems to be promising with all the new talent introduced to us. Tonight, the first group of the Top 36 performed and this is my review.

1. Jackie Tohn – “Little Less Conversation” 2/5

Jackie TohnAll judges other than Simon actually thought Jackie did a good job.  However, even though I usually don’t, I have to agree with Simon.  I couldn’t get into that song at all.  I don’t think she is a terrible singer really, but this song didn’t fit her style. Perhaps other viewers will love her, and that’s their opinion as this is mine.

2. Ricky Braddy – “A Song For You” 4.5/5

Ricky BraddyRandy told him it was an unbelievable performance starting off the eighth season.  Kara said he killed the song, which was a good thing, because it was amazing to watch.  Paula said she was proud that America gets to see how talented he is.  Simon said it was very good, but he wasn’t jumping out of his chair because he doesn’t think Ricky has star quality.

The only reason I gave this four and a half out of 5 stars is because Ricky does have an amazing voice.  The only thing holding me back is the fact that when this episode ends, I won’t be able to remember his face, the only thing I will be able to remember is his voice, which may or may not be enough for him to move on.

3. Alexis Grace – “Never Loved a Man” 3/5

Alexis GraceRandy is loving her right now, Kara told her she is like a genie emerging from it’s bottle.  Paula thinks there is something inside of her that is large, and she is small, and Simon thinks Alexis is the best contestant so far.

I don’t know…maybe it’s not my style of music.  I’ve never really enjoyed blues music before.  I think that what she did with it was actually pretty good, but it didn’t feel like her style to me.  She has a rock quality in her voice, and I would really like to hear that part of her.  I rated it on how I personally thought of the performance, and since I couldn’t get into it, I gave it three out of five.

4. Brent Keith – “Hicktown” 4/5

Brent KeithRandy really enjoyed Brent’s personal style for country music and thinks he could be a great country singer.  Kara thought Brent chose a safe song, Paula agreed, but Simon thought it was forgettable.

I am half half with this one.  I think it is forgettable, but only because I am not a huge country fan, so that is to be expected.  I don’t agree with Kara and Paula’s assesment that it was safe, I thought what he did was actually really good.  He does have a pretty good voice, and I believe he has the potential to be great. Four out of five.

5. Stevie Wright – “You Belong With Me” 3/5

Stevie WrightRandy thought it was not hot, Kara said Stevie has an identity crisis, Paula agreed with Randy and Kara, while Simon said it was terrible.  I have to agree with them, it really wasn’t that great at all.  The song itself wasn’t that bad, but she sang it really shakingly, like she was super nervous, which is understandable. I gave it a three out of five because of the song choice.

6. Anoop Desai – “Angel of Mine” 5/5

Anoop DesaiRandy said he was a huge fan, but it wasn’t the best performance.  Kara agreed with Randy, Simon said it was too grown up, and everyone agreed with him.  I actually liked it a lot.  I thought it was the best performance of the night so far.  I think he did an amazing job, and what came out of him was really strong, taking in the fact he was nervous.

7. Casey Carlson – “Everything She Does is Magic” 3/5

Casey CarlsonRandy said “The dog was lost.” It wasn’t good for him, it was weird, and a weird karaoke song choice.  Kara said nobody tries for those kind of songs.  Paula said it was the wrong choice, and Simon said it was atrocious.

I don’t think it was a terrible song, but for what it was, I didn’t really enjoy it.  I think the judges were a little harsh, but if she goes through, she’ll be able to learn from her mistakes.

8. Michael Sarver – “I Don’t Wanna Be” 5/5

Michael SarverRandy said the beginning started off weird.  Kara said she didn’t think it was Michael’s best performance. Paula gave him praise saying he did a “real good” job.  Simon hopes America votes for him and gives him another chance.

Part of the reason I rated it so high is because I absolutely love this song.  Though the main reason of my rating is because I truly think Michael is very talented, and will go far in life.

9.  Ann Marie Boskovich – “Natural Woman” 4/5

Ann-Marie BoskovichRandy once again said it was the wrong song choice, while Kara said in order for her to win, she has to kill it.  Paula said compared to Hollywood week, Ann Marie actually was better.  Simon compared her as the best hotel singer, but not good enough to be the American Idol. Once again, I really enjoyed a song, while the judges did not.

10. Stephen Fowler – “Rock With You” 4/5

Stephen FowlerRandy once again said he made a wrong song choice.  Kara thought he did a lot better on the piano when he forgot the words.  Paula said it was the kiss of death, because Rock With You belongs to one artist, Michael Jackson.  Simon wanted him to forget the lyrics, because it was terrible.

I grew up with the hits of Michael Jackson, and Rock With You is just one of the many hits that I enjoy.  I think Stephen had an amazing voice, and did a great job with it.  Not many times do people in American Idol sing a Jackson song and do a good job with it, and in this case, I think he did great.  Maybe a bit forgettable, but it takes a lot for me to be amazed.

11. Tatiana Del Toro – “I Am Saving All of My Love For You” 4/5

Tatiana Del ToroRandy said he was impressed with Tatiana’s performance.  Kara compared Tatiana to a roller coaster ride, but this was a very reserved version of Tatiana.  Paula said Tatiana was probably the most  talked about contestant this season.  She also said the song was beautiful. Simon straight up called her a drama queen, and it was better than expected.
This girl.  Oh my gosh.  I was trying so hard to just listen to her vocal talent tonight, which in all honesty isn’t bad at all.  But her personality sucks,  she is very annoying.  And that is not the kind of person I want to be as my American Idol. On http://votefortheworst.com, It encourages everyone to vote for her. When it comes to the song, she did a good job, but that won’t thwart my hatred towards her annoying persona.

12. Danny Gokey – “Hero” 5/5

Danny GokeyRandy said it was blazing hot, Kara said it was incredible, Paula said it was stellar, with the phrase “sold out arenas” Simon said it was good, but not fantastic.

For the longest time, Danny has been my favorite idol. I was really worried when I heard he was going to sing a song by Mariah Carey.  Guys should never sing a female’s song, I genuinely think it just sounds weird.  I think Danny actually did a great job with it, but that could be favoritism speaking. Though this one time didn’t make me think any different of him, he is still my favorite, and will be voting for him once this episode ends.

So this brings us to the predictions.  I only had three people with a perfect score.  I believe the people that will go through are Danny Gokey, Michael Sarver, and Anoop Desai.

One thought on “American Idol: Top 36 – Group 1 Perform”

Leave a Reply

