TV REWIND: Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Season 2

 

Okay, just finished the second season of Buffy, and might I say…wow. This season really took me by surprise. Well mainly the entire season was average until the final half of the show, where it really got intense.  Most of the season was based around the descent of Angel, showing us his dark side.  Being so used to seeing him at his best, kind and gentle, it got painful seeing him act so cruel as a vampire.  The rest of the season the gang attempted to get Angel’s soul back, but failed…several times.

Also, this season liked to shock us with some terrible deaths and even some shocking twists to characters.  Really? Oz is a werewolf?  That episode had probably the worst costume I have ever seen used on either television or film.  I wouldn’t have been surprised if he ran around in a giant easter bunny costume.  The killing off of Jenny Calendar’s character was really disturbing and sad, but if it were me, I wouldn’t have written it any other way.  She sacrificed herself in order to save Angel’s life.

Then the finale, what an episode.  I was aware that Angel was going to be restored, because well…he has his own spin-off show that is done after season three of Buffy.  What I didn’t know was how everything in the finale would play out.  Spike and Buffy working together, that was great.  Spike having a awkward chat with Buffy’s mom, so great.  Then the final moments of the show, Angel got his soul back.  The moment we’ve all been waiting for. What a great moment, Buffy even had a smooch with him and everything.  Then, the show has you at the edge of your seat.  Theres a giant monster about to destroy the world, and somehow, Buffy had to get Angel to stop it.  So what does she do?  She takes a giant sword, and stabs him through the heart.  My mouth dropped straight to the ground.  All that work to have him come back gone to waste. And how will they get him back? They have to somehow, because like I said, he had his own spin-off show.

If that wasn’t enough to keep you wide-eyed, Buffy was seen at the very end, leaving Sunnydale.  Not even saying goodbye to her closest friends.  Then just like that, the season was done.  Wow, I can’t believe I’m saying this, but this single episode reeled me into Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  I can’t wait to see the third season.  I’ll catch you guys when I finish it.  Peace out!

Leave a Reply

