Monk & Psych are Back!

That’s right! Monk and Psych returned to air not too long ago. For Monk, this is his 7th year on air, and might I say, he still has it! After six full seasons, the writers of Monk know how to keep a story interesting. Every episode they come up with is a brand new case that is entertaining enough to keep an audience. My one minor problem I have with this is that Monk is still grieving over his dead wife. Not to be cruel or anything, but she died several years ago. I say this is a minor problem, simply because Tony Shalhoub puts on an amazing performance as Adrian Monk, and that alone eludes everything else.

MONK: SEASON 7: EPISODE 1: MR. MONK BUYS A HOUSE

The first episode of season seven was called “Mr. Monk Buys a House.” While it held up with its promised comedic elements, the heart of this episode was actually very sad. It was completely revolved around the death of Monk’s psychiatrist, Dr. Charles Kroger, played by the late Stanley Kamel. The way Monk handled his death, was he bought a new house to get away from his “noisy” neighbor.

Brad Garett, known for his roll as Robert Barone in “Everybody Loves Raymond” guest starred in this episode as “Honest Jake,” a renovator that Monk hired to fix up his house. Though Jake ends up destroying Monk’s house more than anything.

[CAUTION SPOILERS AHEAD; YE BE WARNED]

This is when we find out that “Honest Jake” isn’t so honest after all. His character was actually looking for money that was hidden inside the house Monk bought. So along with dealing with his shrink’s death, Monk ends up having to solve two murder cases as well. It’s a good episode. Watch the full episode HERE

[END OF SPOILERS]

MONK: SEASON 7: EPISODE 2: MR. MONK AND THE GENIUS

The last episode of Monk that just aired last week was called “Mr. Monk and the Genius”

This episode was interesting, but not quite as good as the premier. The entire episode revolves around chess, and corny chess lines. I myself am an avid fan of the game, but I wouldn’t walk around in my daily life and say things like, “…your move,” and “checkmate.” It’s almost as bad as the cheesy lines in “Batman & Robin.”

In this episode, a genius, who is apparently smarter than Einstein, supposedly killed his wife for the money. The only problem is, this guy is a genius, so obviously he can plan out a perfect murder. This fact alone drives Monk mad as he almost plants evidence on the guy, just to get it over with. Come on, Monk! You’re smarter than that! There were just parts of the show where the chess master basically committed to the crime, but since he is so smart, I guess that doesn’t matter.

I have just one thing to say about this. Chess is a good game, but it doesn’t reflect on real life as this episode makes it out. Just because you can think 5 moves ahead of time, doesn’t mean you can do the same thing in real life. I don’t care who you are, or how smart you claim to be. People are unpredictable, they always have been, and they always will be.

Watch this full episode HERE

PSYCH: SEASON 3: EPISODE 1 – THE GHOST IN YOU

I remember when Psych first aired on USA. I wasn’t sure if I’d like it. A show about a guy pretending he had psychic powers to solve crimes? Well, after I saw a few episodes, I was hooked. This show is genuinely hysterical. I do have to admit, however, that I loved the idea of his photographic memory at first, and thought they could have just made the show about that, and it would have been just as good. Looking back at that thought, I realize that I was wrong, that they made a wise decision doing what they did.

This first episode of Psych was interesting. I did like it, don’t get me wrong, I am just a little confused how I feel about the direction the shows heading in. It seems they are going for a more dramatic approach. The first episode, we see Shawn’s mother comes back into his life, which is a big deal for him. Also Gus has a job, and is forced to quit Psych. I was wondering if this dramatic approach was a one-time deal, but the second episode also had some drama, but I’ll get to that later.

Shawn and Gus are hired to investigate a so-called haunted house. If they don’t do the job, Gus will be fired from his new job. So together they go to the house, and sure enough the house is spooky.

[WARNING SPOILERS AHEAD: YE BE WARNED]

We learn that throughout the entire episode, Shawn was orchestrating all of the strange things happening in the house, to make sure Gus keeps his job. Pretty funny.

[SPOILERS OVER]

Overall, definitely an interesting episode. Still as good as seasons one or two? Too soon to tell. We’ll see. Check out this full episode HERE

PSYCHE: SEASON 3: EPISODE 2 – MURDER?…ANYONE?…ANYONE?…BUELLER?

Who doesn’t love Ferris Bueller? This is what I love about the titles of all these Psyche episodes, they refer to a popular phrase, or movie title. Always fun to notice these allusions. Actually, the reason they named the episode after the movie, is because it’s Shawn and Gus’s high school reunion. He grew up in the 80’s, therefore, Ferris Bueller.

Actually, I think I liked this episode more than the premier, to tell you the truth. I liked where they were going with this episode. Plenty of humorous scenes, that did in fact kept me guessing. At the reunion, Shawn witnesses a murder, that to everyone else, never happened. So it’s up to Shawn and Gus to solve a crime that never happened.

I was talking about drama earlier. This one also had a good amount of drama in it. In this particular episode, Shawn meets an old friend from school that so happened to be a girl he used to like. The show goes way back to Shawn’s past as he describes what he went through back then when it came to her. Romantic, yes, but it’s not the Shawn we are used to. It’s not the Shawn we’ve all grown to love. Also, it re-introduced Shawn’s feelings for Jules. I actually have a pretty big problem with this.

It’s one of those things, where you can just see that it probably will never happen, but you want it to so badly. So if this show were to be cancelled, and they never got together, I’d probably punch a wall out of anger. It’s just one of those things you want to see done.

Definitely an episode to check out. Watch it HERE

Leave a Reply

