American Idol: Top 7

Tonight the gang returned to sing songs from the pop singer, Mariah Carey. I have to admit, since I have held a firm standing belief that men on American Idol should never in a million years, sing womens songs. Though for some reason women can get away nicely singing male parts, dont ask me why, they just do. Anyways, the group have sung women songs before, with Dolly Parton, but her styles work well with both genders, unlike Mariah Carey. By the way, were they out of ideas when they picked her? She is not that memorable, at least not to me.

Well, the Idols gave some surprisingly strong performances tonight, as Simon said near the end that the men were the strongest ones in the competition this week. I think I know why. Other than Archuleta, who sang it like he always does, which was good, but not what I was looking for. David Cook and Jason Castro did what I wanted to hear. They took a girls song, tweaked with it, and made it their own in such a creative way. In the end it made me enjoy it more than I thought I would.

One of the mentionables in tonights competition is David Cook. He was the judges favorite performer tonight, and I agreed with the judges for once. I think he did a great job. He is one of the most creative singers that has ever been on the show. He continues to surprise me.

At one point, after Brooke sang, I got confused. The judges (mostly Simon) began comparing her to fast food. Something about getting a burger with just the bread and no meat. I was confused. Then Paula, being the stuttering bimbo that she is, repeated the same phrase over and over from the 80’s, “Wheres the Beef?” she must have said it like ten or fifteen times before she shut up. Then of course she brought it up again…booze.

I think the worst performer tonight, and has been for a few weeks now, is Syesha Mercado. She did an alright job, and that’s what she always does. Idol is not about being alright, its not about trying your hardest, it is about perfection. Something she simply does not have. So after watching the episode tonight, here is my list of the best to worst performances of the night.

1. David Cook
2. Christy Lee Cook
3. David Archuletta
4. Brooke White
5. Jason Castro
6. Carly Smithson
7. Syesha Mercado

That’s all for now, Peace out!

Leave a Reply

